Home Home > Home

Grand room 2F, Muui Island Homeplus Academy, Korea (Brochure for Homeplus Academy)

February 22 (Mon), 2016 ~ February 26 (Fri), 2016

Quantum Materials Symposium 2016 (QMS16) is organized by the Korean condensed matter physics community of strongly correlated electron systems (SCES) and sponsored by various organizations in Korea including Asia-Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP), Korea Institute for Advanced Study (KIAS), Institute for Basic Science (IBS): Center for Correlated Electron Systems (CCES) at Seoul National University (SNU) and Center for Artificial Low Dimensional Electronic Systems (CALDES) at Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH ), and Center for Topological Matter at POSTECH. We intend to bring together world-renowned researchers in various frontiers in condensed matter physics. You may find information on the previous symposiums, QMS13, QMS14, and QMS15, at the following web sites:

In keeping with our tradition of hosting the symposium in a relaxed atmosphere, we hold QMS16 at the Tesco Academy located in a resort island called Muui-do near Seoul-Incheon international airport during Feb. 22-26, 2016.

During the five-day symposium, we hope to cover various topics in condensed matter physics such as topological insulators, correlated materials with strong spin-orbit coupling, nonequilibrium physics, pump-probe experiments, quantum Hall effects, novel superconductors, and so on.

Invited speakers:
        1.   R. Arita (Univ. of Tokyo) 
 2.   X. Chen (Tsinghua Univ.)
 3.   G. A. Csathy (Purdue Univ.)
 4.   D. Dessau (Univ. of Colorado)
 5.   A. Fujimori (Univ. of Tokyo)
 6.   M. Grioni (EPFL)
 7.  J. H. Han (Sungkyunkwan Univ.)
 8.  J. K. Jain (Penn State Univ.)
 9.  I. Jo (Princeton Univ.)
10. Y. Jo (Kyungpook National Univ.)
11. W. Kang (Univ. of Chicago)
12. J.-H. Kim (Yonsei Univ.)
13. K. Kim (Chungbuk Nataional Univ.)
14. H.-J. Lee (POSTECH)
15. H.-W Lee (POSTECH)
16. E.-G. Moon (KAIST)
17. H. J. Noh (Chonnam National Univ.)
18. T. W. Noh (Seoul National Univ.)
19. K. Ohgushi (Tohoku Univ.)
20. T. Okuda (Hiroshima Univ.)
21. S. Onoda (RIKEN)
22. K. Park (KIAS)
23. T. Schmitt (PSI)
24. S.J. Sin (Hanyang Univ.)
25. J. Smet (MPI)
26. Y. W. Son (KIAS)
27. K. Sun (Univ. of Michigan)
28. T. Tohyama (Tokyo Univ. of Science)
29. P. Werner (Univ. of Fribourg)
30. S. Wu (Fudan Univ.)
31. B.-J. Yang (Seoul National Univ.)
*: Schedules to be confirmed
Organizing Committee:
Yunkyu Bang (Chonnam National Univ.)
Gun-Sang Jeon (Ewha Womans Univ.)
Younjung Jo (Kyungpook National Univ.)
Jung Hoon Han (Sungkyunkwan Univ.)
Changyoung Kim (Seoul National Univ.)
Kee-Hoon Kim (Seoul National Univ.)
Jae-Hoon Park (POSTECH)
Je-Geun Park (Seoul National Univ.)
Kwon Park (KIAS): Committee Chair
Tuson Park (Sungkyunkwan Univ.)
Chan-Ho Yang (KAIST)
Jaejun Yu (Seoul National Univ.)

Deure Park (박드레) pdr3385@kias.re.kr